Music, Star Series


The Magnetic Fields – “69 Love Songs” 25th Anniversary Tour

  • Wed, May 29 at 8:00pm
  • Thu, May 30 at 8:00pm
  • Buy Tickets

    In celebration of the 25th anniversary of its release, the Magnetic Fields will continue to perform “69 Love Songs”—the 3-disc masterwork that marked a significant breakthrough for the American band—in its entirety over the course of two nights, for the first time in over two decades. Starting in March, the band will perform “69 Love Songs” throughout 2024.

    The Magnetic Fields will perform the album as it was originally performed in the early 2000s: In full order over two nights, with one-half of the triple-disc album performed each night. Featuring multiple singers, the band delivers signature orchestral pop arrangements with cello, uke, guitars, and keyboards.

    Written and recorded entirely by Stephin Merritt, “69 Love Songs” garnered universal acclaim at its 1999 release, landing on best of year-end lists in Rolling Stone, The New York Times, SPIN, LA Times, and The Washington Post, and received notable praise from Pitchfork, The Guardian, Stereogum, and much more.

    The Magnetic Fields are the brainchild of Merritt, who also releases albums as the 6ths, the Gothic Archies, and Future Bible Heroes. With the Magnetic Fields, he has written, produced, and recorded twelve albums to date. He composed original music and lyrics for three music theater pieces directed by Chen Shi-Zheng, and in 2008, mounted an Off-Broadway stage musical of Neil Gaiman’s “Coraline,” for which he won an Obie Award. Merritt composed the score for the Academy Award–nominated film “Pieces of April” and for the independent film “Eban and Charley.” His song “The Book of Love” was performed by Peter Gabriel and appears in the film “Shall We Dance” as well as numerous other films and TV shows. He has composed incidental music for the HarperCollins’ audiobooks “A Series of Unfortunate Events” and Neil Gaiman’s “Coraline.” Recently, the Magnetic Fields have been touring to support their 2020 release, “Quickies,” on Nonesuch records.