Documentary, Shorts

2024 Documentary Oscar Shorts

  • Fri, Feb 16
    • 4:30pm - Cinema Two
  • Sat, Feb 17
    • 3:50pm - Cinema Two
    • 9:20pm - Cinema Two
  • Sun, Feb 18
    • 6:20pm - Cinema One
  • Tue, Feb 20
    • 6:30pm - Cinema Two
  • Wed, Feb 21
    • 9:10pm - Cinema Two
  • Thu, Feb 22
    • 8:30pm - Cinema One
  • Wed, Feb 28
    • 9:00pm - Cinema Two
  • Thu, Feb 29
    • 4:10pm - Cinema Two
  • Fri, Mar 1
    • 4:20pm - Cinema Two
  • Tue, Mar 5
    • 7:10pm - Cinema Two
  • Tue, Mar 12
    • 7:10pm - Cinema Two
Buy Tickets

For the 19th consecutive year, ShortsTV and Magnolia Pictures present the Oscar-Nominated Short Films, opening on February 16th. With all three categories offered – Animated, Live Action and Documentary – this is your annual chance to predict the winners (and have the edge in your Oscar pool)! A perennial hit with audiences around the country and the world, don’t miss this year’s selection of shorts. The Academy Awards take place Sunday, March 10th.

DOCUMENTARY SHORTS (to be offered as one program of 141 minutes)

Rated PG/PG-13. Topics include aging, friendship, economic inequality, Taiwanese independence, and book bans. Probably the most uplifting of the three programs this year!

Nǎi Nai and Wài Pó– Sean Wang and Sam Davis, 17 min., USA (in Mandarin)
The Barber of Little Rock – John Hoffman and Christine Turner, 35 min., USA (in English)
Island In Between – S. Leo Chiang and Jean Tsien, 20 min., Taiwan (in English/Mandarin)
The ABC’s of Book Banning – Sheila Nevins and Trish Adlesic, 27 min., USA (in English)
The Last Repair Shop – Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers, 39 min., USA (in English)